African American Studies

Curated by Maya Cade, Black Film Archive is a curated collection of streaming Black cinema from the 1910s through 1979.

Information, resources, and digitized collections, including "Frederick Douglass: American Visionary" and "Legends of Tuskegee."

Digital collections from the Library of Congress, including the Frederick Douglass Papers, slave narratives, and a Jackie Robinson collection.

Created by Tulane University, the Amistad Research Center is the "nation's oldest, largest and most comprehensive independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other ethnic minorities." Includes photographs, manuscripts, art collections, and more.

This resources page from the National Archives connects users to archival collections related to black history, including photographic, pamphlet, and genealogical records. The resource guide links to primary sources outside of the National Archives as well.

BlackPast.org is an online reference center devoted to African American history, including encyclopedia entries, full text primary documents, and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th century to present.

The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930. Most of the material relates to the years 1920, 1925, and 1930.

Documenting Ferguson is a freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014.

Digital archive of mainly primary material from Penn State University Libraries. Includes sound and video recordings, photographs, and documents. Collection includes approximately 450 photographs created by the Alabama Department of Public Safety (ADPS) in the course of monitoring civil rights activities in the 1960s.

Resources and information about Martin Luther King, Jr. from the King Center, established in 1968 by Coretta Scott King.

A project from Stanford University, the collection includes chronologies, sound clips, biographies, and more.

From the University of Pittsburgh and the Maryland Center for Health Equity at University of Maryland's School of Public Health.

A collection of information about the major people, events and achievements in the first 100 years of the NAACP's history (1909-2009). Digitization of the large collection of NAACP resources from the Library of Congress.

A digital repository that seeks to preserve and make accessible original content that was captured and created by individual community members, grassroots organizations, and witnesses to the protests that followed the death of Freddie Gray on April 19, 2015.

From the New York Public Library's Schomberg Center, a digital collection of exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and links to further resources.

Resources from the Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Massachusetts.