In general terms, a database refers to any searchable set of data. When we talk about library databases, the "data" we're searching usually consists of published research articles written for an academic audience. The library offers access to over 100 databases, each of which focuses on a different subject, discipline, or source type (some databases search mostly scientific studies, some search news articles, etc.).
Each database is different. Library databases generally require a subscription to search them and access the articles--much like Netflix or Disney+ require a subscription to search and access their video content. When you access these databases through the library website, you're accessing those subscriptions. Never pay for an article you find online. Chances are, you'll be able to access that article for free through the library, either by searching a database or making an interlibrary loan request.
When you're looking for articles for a literature review, annotated bibliography, or other research project, library databases will connect you to more academic articles than a regular web search. Browse our list of library databases via our Databases A-Z list.
These are a couple of databases we recommend starting with for most English 100 research projects. Depending on your topic, you might need to look deeper into subject-specific databases. If you'd like guidance about which databases would be most helpful for your topic, get in touch with a librarian.
Scholarly journal and other articles covering all subject areas. Full text.
Can't find the article you need in OneSearch? You can request it through our interlibrary loan service (ILL). Learn more here: ILL Log-In and Frequently Asked Questions.