Library Research Guides: Art and Archaeology: Find Journal Articles

OneSearch Library Catalog

OneSearch searches multiple article databases and the library physical collections all at once.

Use OneSearch to gain a broader sense of the information landscape and to see where material is indexed (for later searching in an individual database).

Find journal articles, books, e-books, DVDs, images, videos, and more. Use drop-down menus, facets, and the advanced search function to apply limits to your search.

Click Expand My Results to discover materials outside of our library. These materials can often be acquired through interlibrary loan.

Databases

These disciplinary and interdisciplinary databases can be important resources in locating art, art history, and archaeology topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and other articles covering all subject areas. Full text.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA/RILA) This link opens in a new window
Open access citations for research in European and American visual arts. No full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 1.5 million high-quality images of art (paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc.) from ancient times to the present.

Smarthistory
Essays and analyses by more than five hundred art historians, curators, archaeologists, and artists. These experts are committed to rewriting the colonial legacies of art history and unlocking the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.