The American Folk Art Museum in New York City provides information about folk and self-taught art, its collection, research resources, and valuable curriculum guides.
The Art Institute Chicago provides access to over 95,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of their encyclopedic collection.
The Baltimore Museum of Art is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Their website provides access to over 10,000 art images.
The British Museum’s entire digitized database to date can be found here, with new records and images being added every week. When complete the database will contain a record of every object in the Museum collection, with associated conservation and scientific reports where available.
Digital Bodleian is an effort to make portions of the Bodleian's extraordinary Oxford library collections open to a wide variety of users from around the world for learning, teaching and research.
These two galleries hold some of the most important works of Asian art in the world. More than 11,000 objects from the collections with more added each month.
The website of the Metropolitan Museum of Art includes art images that are searchable and can be filtered by date, artist or culture, geographical area, etc.
The collections include artifacts and sculpture from the Mayas, Olmecs, Toltecs and other ancient civilizations from Mexico. Modern ethnographic groups are also highlighted.
This art gallery's website allows for easy browsing by category, artist, and medium, as well as functionality for community users to organize their own collections of the art on the site.
The Collection Online is a continuously growing digital archive of primary source material collected by individual practitioners and researchers in cities across Asia.
Contains the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery. Also contains an illustrated and regularly updated dictionary and bibliographies.
Contains over 40,000 high resolution images from over 500 museums and many other collections. The collection covers a wide range of subjects: Fine Arts, Religion, History, Music, Archaeology, Mythology, Architecture, Landscapes, Historical Portraits and Reportage.
The Rembrandt Database is an inter-institutional research resource for information and documentation on paintings by Rembrandt – or attributed to him, either now or in the past – in museums around the world.
A collection of interviews with artists and critics documenting the history of the feminist art movement in the 1970s. These interviews formed the basis for !Women Art Revolution, a documentary film.
