In general terms, a database refers to any searchable set of data. When we talk about library databases, the "data" we're searching usually consists of published research articles written for an academic audience. The library offers access to over 100 databases, each of which focuses on a different subject, discipline, or source type (some databases search mostly scientific studies, some search news articles, etc.).
Each database is different. Library databases generally require a subscription to search them and access the articles--much like Netflix or Disney+ require a subscription to search and access their video content. When you access these databases through the library website, you're accessing those subscriptions. Never pay for an article you find online. Chances are, you'll be able to access that article for free through the library, either by searching a database or making an interlibrary loan request.
When you're looking for articles for a literature review, annotated bibliography, or other research project, library databases will connect you to more academic articles than a regular web search. Browse our list of library databases via our Databases A-Z list.
Scholarly journal and other articles covering all subject areas. Full text.
The terms scholarly article, academic article, research article, peer-reviewed article, and refereed article are often used interchangeably. So what do these terms actually mean? And where should you look to find scholarly articles?
Peer review refers to the editorial process that research undergoes before it's published in an academic journal. Before publication, an article is evaluated by a group of scholars in that field of research. Sometimes articles are rejected; sometimes they're accepted; and other times, they're sent back to the author for revisions. Peer review isn't a perfect system, and peer review doesn't guarantee that the research that is published is above reproach. (It also doesn't mean that solid research can't be found outside of academic journals.) But it's the way much of academic research is vetted, published, and distributed--and it's what your professors generally mean when they ask you to look for a "scholarly article."
It's possible to find peer-reviewed articles through a basic web search, but because of the high cost of academic journals, you'll typically find more academic research by searching one of our library databases.
Can't find the article you need in OneSearch? You can request it through our interlibrary loan service (ILL). Learn more here: ILL Log-In and Frequently Asked Questions.