Library Research Guides: Biology: Health Reports

CDC, NIH, WHO and others

CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) - National Violent Death Reporting System
NIH (National Institutes of Health)
NIH (National Institutes of Health) - NCI (National Cancer Institute)
NIH (National Institues of Health) - NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse)
WHO (World Health Organization) - United Nations
Full-text online publications include the World Health Report and the World Health Statistics. Databases providing data and analysis include the Global Health Observatory, WHO Global InfoBase, and the Global Health Atlas.
more...less...
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
WHO (World Health Organization) - United Nations - Mortality Database
The WHO Mortality Database is a compilation of mortality data by country and area, year, sex, age and cause of death, as transmitted annually by national authorities from their civil registration and vital statistics system. It comprises data since 1950 to date.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services
American Public Health Association
Commonwealth Fund
Commonwealth Fund, a private foundation, supports independent research on health care issues in the U.S. and internationally. All data and reports are freely available. The Topics list is a good place to begin.
Health - EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Contains research on human health impacts associated with environmental exposures.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Find research on the nation's evidence base on the many factors which shape health, and what types of policy and system changes have greatest potential for impact.

Cancer

Cancer Trends Progress Report. National Cancer Institute
The Cancer Trends Progress Report, first issued in 2001 as the Cancer Progress Report, summarizes our nation's progress against cancer. The report includes key measures of progress along the cancer control continuum and uses national trend data to illustrate where advances have been made.
National Cancer Institute
PracticeUpdate
PracticeUpdate identifies the latest and most important articles from the most respected sources in oncology
Abstracts or summaries of journal articles are provided.
And, in come cases, free access to full text is offered.
National Program of Cancer Registries
Contains the United States Cancer Statistics report, graphs, tables, the Interactive Cancer Atlas, and more...

Pesticides

Fourth National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals - CDC (Center for Disease Control)
TOXNET has moved!
TOXNET has been integrated into other parts of the National Library of Medicine. This document describes how the TOXNET information is organized.

Substance Abuse

Obesity

What Works for the Prevention and Treatment of Obesity Among Children: Experimental Evaluations of Programs and Interventions (2010)
A 14-page report from Child Trends, a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that provides information and insights on the well-being of children and youth. It produces reports and data on Early Childhood Development, Health, Poverty, Teen Pregnancy, and other issues affecting children.
Obesity Prevention Source - Harvard School of Public Health
An in-depth resource for all who seek to understand the causes of obesity and to reverse the epidemic of obesity in children and adults