Library Research Guides: Biology: Web Resources

Recommended Resources

Numerous web resources cover biology and its many subdisciplines:

iBiology provides detailed explanations of processes presented by top researchers.

Audubon's Birds of America at the University of Pittsburgh
Fully digitized version of John James Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography.
Encyclopedia of Life
Aims to become a comprehensive, authenticated source of information about the world’s biodiversity freely available over the Internet.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
The most authoritative and comprehensive resource on the conservation status of plants, fungi, and animals, with bibliographic information on over 60,000 species.
USDA Plants
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Earth ArXiv
EarthArXiv publishes preprint articles from all subdomains of Earth Science and related domains of planetary science including biology, ecology and sustainability.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Journals
PLOS publishes open-access journals in scientific disciplines, including genetics, climate, water, sustainability, and public health.

arXiv
Open access to over 1 million e-prints of scientific papers in the fields of computer science, mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
bioRxiv
Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished pre-prints in the life sciences.
DRYAD
Repository of research data underlying scientific and medical publications, predominantly from peer-reviewed journal articles.

Silver Book - Alliance for Aging Research
Contains facts, statistics, graphs, and data from more than 200 agencies, organizations, and experts. It is a searchable database that is constantly updated and expanded in order to highlight the latest research and data on the burden of chronic disease. The online books in the series include, Diabetes, Neurological Disease, Osteoporosis, and Vision Loss.
National Institute on Aging - U.S. National Institutes of Health

Health Rankings - United Health Foundation
Rankings by state and health problem: Obesity, Smoking, Diabetes and Sedentary Lifestyle. Data can be organized into a custom report and downloaded.
Contains some international data for comparison.