Demographics and Statistics

Information about the most recent Census.

Current and historic information for the decennial Census.

Provides data on age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, location of work, transportation to and from work, and location of home and living expenses.

An online resource for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. Information provided includes fact sheets for specific communities and statistical information about people, housing, business, and government.

CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, maintained by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.

Reports on social and economic characteristics of the population from 1790 to the present.

The Economic Census is conducted every five years for every industry. Includes statistics for the U.S., states, metro areas, counties and cities.

Contains data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

An annual publication including crimes by offense, by region, by state, and by local agency.

Statistical crime reports and and publications detailing specific offenses and outlining trends.

Tables, charts, and graphs created using NCHS public use data.

Includes links to additional resources.

Data, graphs, and maps of cancer statistics by state.

Country data and statistics from the Global Health Observatory.

Contains investigative reports, databases, and contextual analysis on issues of public importance.

Full-text academic papers on a variety of social issues.

Results from public opinion polls on "hot topics" such as immigration, gay and lesbian rights, and healthcare law.

Non-partisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.

Publications on a wide variety of social issues.

Archive of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion, ranging from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.

Statistical reports from several U.S. government agencies, including the Executive Office of the President, the Central Intelligence Agency, and the U.S. Dept. of Treasury.

Includes reports, fact sheets, and news releases. Includes links to additional sources.

News releases, data tables, and publications related to the U.S. labor market.

The State of Working America Web site presents data in eight broad issue areas: income, economic mobility, wages, jobs, wealth, poverty, health, and international comparisons. Charts and graphs can be downloaded.

Population statistics, charts, and maps. Includes the United States and international profiles.

Designed by the Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy at Brandeis University. Offers graphical compilations of data designed to document the well-being of children in the U.S.