Library Research Guides: Education: Curriculum Resources

Early Childhood Education

Curriculum Resources (K-12)

Library of Congress Teaching: Classroom Materials
EDSITEment: The Best of the Humanities on the Web
Educator's Reference Desk
Gateway to 21st Century Skills (NEA)
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
New York Times Learning Network
Open Vault WGBH Media Library and Archive
more... less...

The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
Teachers' Domain: Digital Media for the Classroom & Professional Development
Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute
Visionlearning

Science Curricula

NSDL: The National Science Digital Library
Funded by NSF, this is THE online portal for education and research on learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.
Understanding Science.
Funded by the National Science Foundation and prepared by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of California at Berkeley, the site provides a fun, accessible and free resource that communicates what science is and how it works. It provides resources and strategies to encourage and enable K-16 teachers in reinforcing the nature of science through their teaching.
Butterflies and Moths of North America: Collecting and Sharling Data about Lepidoptera
"BAMONA aims to fill the needs of scientists and nature observers by bringing verified occurrence and life history data into one accessible location. Citizen scientists are invited to participate by submitting their photographs and observations." Especially good for identifying local butterflies.
Education World: Science Subject Center
Includes science lesson plans, printable work sheets, and other tools and resources to aid in the teaching of science. Also includes articles about practical concerns of educators.

more... less...

"EducationWorld's parent company is EDmin.com. EDmin.com is a leading provider of learning management solutions. The company provides a wide range of sophisticated and comprehensive services and Web-based solutions [for education].
Discovery Education: Free Teachers Resources
Offers a broad range of free classroom resources, including lesson plans and worksheets.

more... less...

"Discovery Education offers a breadth and depth of digital media content that is immersive, engaging and brings the world into the classroom to give every student a chance to experience fascinating people, places, and events. All content is aligned to state standards, can be aligned to custom curriculum, and supports classroom instruction regardless of the technology platform."--from the site
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators. Science, Computing, and Technologoy.
Kathy Schrock's site includes practical presentations dealing with pedagogically-sound practices for the embedding of technology seamlessly into teaching and learning.
PBS Teachers
Provides high-quality preK-12 educational resources: lesson plans, teaching activities, on demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. The resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS programming.
National Science Teaching Association
An e-professional development portal designed to help science teachers in designing science curriculum and lessons. Many free resources, more resources available to members of NTSA.
Howtosmile.org
Science and math activities from leading scientists. Produced by University of California at Berkeley's Lawrence Hall of Science.

Social Studies

National Council of Social Studies defines social studies as the integrated study of the social sciences and humanities to promote civic competence.

The NCSS framework consists of ten themes. The descriptors in paranthesis have been added as possible corresponding content areas.

Culture (diversity, traditions, literature, religion, music, anthropology, archaeology, gender)
Time, Continuity, and Change (history)
People, Places, and Environments (geography)
Individual Development and Identity (psychology)
Individuals, Groups, and Institutions (political science, sociology)
Power, Authority, and Governance (political science, law,)
Production, Distribution, and Consumption (economics)
Science, Technology, and Society (sciences)
Global Connections (migrations, trade, globalization)
Civic Ideals and Practices (philosophy, ethics, human rights)

National Council for the Social Studies - U.S. History
This is a collection of classroom activities, teaching ideas, and articles from the National Council for the Social Studies publications, including Social Education, Social Studies and the Young Learner, and Middle Level Learning.
Maryland State Archives
These resources include digital publications, special collections, and image collections from the holdings of the Maryland State Archives.
Reading Like a Historian - Stanford History Education Group
75 lesson plans - The Reading Like a Historian curriculum engages students in historical inquiry. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features sets of primary documents modified for groups of students with diverse reading skills and abilities.
This curriculum teaches students how to investigate historical questions employing reading strategies such as sourcing, contextualizing, corroborating, and close reading. Instead of memorizing historical facts, students evaluate the trustworthiness of multiple perspectives on issues from King Philip's War to the Montgomery Bus Boycott, and make historical claims backed by documentary evidence.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education. Their website includes more than 60,000 unique historical documents and how to use them in teaching grades 6-12.