Library Research Guides: Psychology: Find Articles

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Journals

Scholarly journals contain articles written by, and directed toward, experts in a discipline. Articles in these journals:

Deal with academic study and research
Report on original research and experimentation
Use language reflecting the disciplines covered
Assume knowledge or background on the part of the reader
Not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed

Peer-reviewed journals contain articles:

That have passed through a review process
That have been evaluated by scholars in the author's field or speciality
That meet a discipline's expected standards of expertise

Databases

PsycINFO
Citations for research in behavioral science and mental health. Limited full text.
PsycARTICLES
Articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychology Association. Full text.
PsycTESTS
Psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments for researchers in the behavioral and social sciences. Limited full text.
Academic Search Ultimate
Search Academic Search Complete for more general articles about psychology and to find a broad swath of materials relating to psychology from other disciplines.
JSTOR
Provides full-text for 6 psychology journals available at Hood. Search other journals for articles to be accessed through interlibrary loan.
PubMed
Citations for biomedical research, including articles that cannot be found in PubMed Central. Some citations include links to full-text content.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations for international research in sociology and related disciplines. No full text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments, with a bibliography of commercially available tests currently in print in the English language.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is not always reliable, but it does provide a means for a "fishing expedition"--casting terms out there to see what is "caught" and possibly providing new terms to reiterate the search. A Google Scholar search can also direct a searcher to the right database for a more precise and well-conceived search.