Zotero

There are a few different ways to insert citations and bibliographies into your Word  or Google docs document. (Be sure you are using the full install of Word, not the Office365/cloud version of Word. There is no way to install the Zotero Add-in for this version  of Word.) Below are instructions for 1) copying multiple entries to make a bibliography from Zotero and 2) adding citations directly in Word.

You can use Zotero with Microsoft Word to create in-text citations and an automatic bibliography at the end of your document.  You should have the Zotero Standalone open as you write. 

1. In Word, position the cursor where you want to add a citation.
2. Select the Zotero tab.
3. Click Add/Edit Citation.
   ​
4. A red Zotero bar will appear within your document, where you can search by any word in your reference to bring up your chosen citation. You also can click the Z, select Classic view which will open up your source collection in Zotero. Then you can select the source you want. Note: if this is your first time using the Word Connector, you may be prompted to select a citation style first.
   
5. You can add page numbers to the end of the citation, and then hit enter.
   
6. Zotero will paste your citation in the style you selected. 
7. If you need to change citation styles, click the Document Preferences gear on the Zotero tab in word.

Note: You can also click and drag entries from the Zotero Standalone directly into your Word document; these will paste in as Works Cited entries.

When you are finished writing you can create a bibliography by  putting your cursor where you want the bibliography. Then click Add/Edit Bibliography under the Zotero tab and your Zotero will generate a bibliography in the selected citation style.

If you move, add, or delete citations in your text, click Refresh under the Zotero tab and the citation or footnotes and bibliography will be updated to reflect your changes.

To create a list of citations for a bibliography or works cited in Zotero:

1. Select the items you want to add to your list of references.  Hold the "ctrl" key as you select to choose multiple items at the same time.
2. Right click on your items, and select "Create Bibliography from Items..."
   
3. This brings up a window that allows you to choose your preferred style, output mode (Notes or Bibliography), and output method (Copy to Clipboard is the default and most common setting).
   
4. Then, open Microsoft Word and find the place you want to paste your bibliography.
5. Finally, review your citations to make sure they match your chosen style and that there are no errors.

If you installed either the Google Chrome or the Firefox connectors, the Zotero menu is installed for Google Docs. You should have Zotero standalone running as you write.

• In Google Docs, position the cursor where you want to add a citation.
• Select the Zotero tab.
• Click Add/Edit Citation.

​

• A red Zotero bar will appear within your document, where you can search by any word in your reference to bring up your chosen citation. You also can click the Z, select Classic view which will open up your source collection in Zotero. Then you can select the source you want. 
  
• You can add page numbers to the end of the citation, and then hit enter.
  
• Zotero will paste your citation in the style you selected. 
• If you need to change citation styles, click the Document Preferences gear on the Zotero tab in word.

When you are finished writing you can create a bibliography by  putting your cursor where you want the bibliography. Then click Add/Edit Bibliography under the Zotero tab and your Zotero will generate a bibliography in the selected citation style.

If you move, add, or delete citations in your text, click Refresh under the Zotero tab and the citation or footnotes and bibliography will be updated to reflect your changes.