Archives and Special Collections

The Hood College archives is an active archives. Transfer of documents from campus offices is voluntary, both currently and historically. The collections are varied and almost exclusively related to Hood. Some of the larger collections or materials you can find are:

• Administrative records, including annual president's report, staff meeting minutes
• Presidential papers - correspondence, recognitions, personal histories, inaugural materials, limited administrative records
• Alumnae Association records
• Faculty papers
• Alumni scrapbooks
• Hood publications - Blue & Grey newspaper, Lesbian Herald magazine, Alumnae Bulletin, Hood Magazine, etc.
• Course catalogs, student handbooks, and other 
• Films - Hood films spanning the 1930s and 1940s, promotional films
• Photographs
• Student organization and honor society papers
• Campus ledgers

Also available is the JFK Assassination Archives. Almost all of the items in this archive are digitized and available online:

Our special book collections are non-circulating but most are available by appointment with the archivist or available as in-library use only:

• Special Collections in the Archive - principal subject areas include the Civil War, the Reformed Church, and Maryland and local history. Books viewable by appointment with the archivist.
• Woman's College Collection - over 1,000 volumes published before 1913, once belonging to the libraries of the Frederick Female Seminary and the Woman's College of Frederick (now Hood College). Viewable by appointment with the archivist.
• Children's Literature - located in the archive and on the 4th floor. Viewable by appointment with the archivist, if located in the archives, books shelved on the 4th floor are in-library use only.
• JFK Assassination Book Collection - located on the 4th floor, in-library use only.