Archives and Special Collections

The Hood Archives and Special Collections are located on the second floor of the Beneficial-Hodson Library and Learning Commons. Hours are by appointment with the archivist, Mary Atwell. Appointments are made between 8:30am and 4:30pm weekly, when the library is open, but special arrangement can be made for evening or weekend hours.

• Room 2028 - Reading Room, where research takes place
• Room 2029 - Processing Room, where archival processing work is completed
• Room 2030 - restricted, archival storage

Faculty, Students, and Staff:

Researchers on campus are encouraged to contact the archivist at least 24 hours prior to arrival. While students do not need a fully-fleshed topic before doing archival research, if the archivist understands the assignment or general area of inquiry prior to the visit, likely items or collections can be pulled in preparation for the session.

Alumnae or Public Researchers:

Alumnae researchers and public patrons are welcome to the archives with prior arrangement with the archivist. Please note that access some collections or materials may be restricted at the discretion of the archivist, as Hood is a private institution.

Remote Research:

Please contact the archivist or other library staff with research requests, or use the research request form. Public patrons, please expect at least a 24-hour turnaround for responses. There is no charge for research requests, but requests for large scale scanning may require a nominal fee or be rejected if staffing doesn't allow it.

The following rules are applicable to Hood's archival spaces, but they are also general guidelines for using any archival or cultural space for research. Archival materials come in many formats - paper, film, slides, negatives, 3-dim.objects - and are handled using different techniques, yet all with care.

Food and Drink:

No food, drinks, candy, or gum is permitted in the Reading Room.

Before Handling Materials:

• hands must be washed prior to working with the collections; rest rooms are available on the same floor near the elevator
• laptop cases, purses, or bags must be secured by the archivist or stored in the first floor lockers
• pens and large binders are prohibited; all writing must be done with pencil (provided)
• coats and hats will be secured by a staff member

Handling Materials:

• all materials must be handled with extreme care; many items are brittle and sensitive to touch
• Gloves will be provided for use according to the archivist's discretion
• Materials must be kept in the order in which they are stored
• One folder and/or box may be reviewed at a time
• cell phones should be silenced but earbuds and headphones are permitted
• the archivist reserves the right to limit or restrict access to anyone who demonstrates a lack of care or disregard for the rules
• materials are selected from the archives storage space by the archivist, with input from the researcher
• access to the storage room is restricted to staff