Library Research Guides: History: Local & Family History

Local and State Archives and Collections

Hood College Special Collections & Archive
Collects non-circulating items of enduring value that chronicle all aspects of Hood College history.
more...less...
Access to most archival materials is by appointment only. Please complete the Archive Research Request Form to schedule an appointment.
Heritage Frederick
Located in downtown Frederick, this non-profit educational organization collects and preserves artifacts and documents related to Frederick County History.
more...less...
Prior arrangements are necessary for access to the archives. Please see the website for contact information and policies.
Maryland Historical Society Library
Located in Baltimore, the H. Furlong Baldwin Library provides access to an expansive collection of Maryland history materials.
more...less...
An online database of the library's collections is available, but you must register and pay a nominal fee to visit the library and use the collections. Librarians are available to assist you in your research. Please view the library's website for information/policies before planning a visit to the archives.
The Maryland Room, C. Burr Artz Library
Housed in the C. Burr Artz Library in downtown Frederick. Materials document Maryland history, with special emphasis on the history of the city of Frederick and Frederick County.
more...less...
Librarians are available to assist with your research. Please view the library's website for information/policies before planning a visit to the archives.
Thurmont Center for Agricultural History
The materials housed in the Thurmont Center include books, photographs, ribbons, and clippings related to the agricultural heritage of Frederick County and the surrounding area.
more...less...
Please view the library's website for information/policies before planning a visit to the archives.
Maryland State Archives
These resources include digital publications, special collections, and image collections from the holdings of the Maryland State Archives.
Digital Maryland
A collaborative, statewide digitization program headquartered at the Enoch Pratt Free Library/State Library Resource Center in Baltimore

Genealogy Resources

Family Search: Maryland
A free alternative to commercial ancestry databases, sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, providing links to census records, military records, and more.
US Gen Web Census Project: Maryland
A volunteer effort to transcribe census records. Partial coverage only.
Heritage Quest
Includes Census documents, family, and local histories. Available through the Frederick County Public Library and requires a log-in.

Complete census records can be accessed for no cost at the National Archives, NARA regional facilities, and many public libraries.

For reports on social and economic characteristics of the U.S. population from 1790 to the present, as well as current local, national, and international data sources, see our Demographics and Statistics research guide.

Civil War Monuments/Sites

Frederick County Civil War Sites
Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area
Maryland Civil War Trails
Pennsylvania Civil War Trails
West Virginia Civil War Trails
Crossroads of War: Maryland and the Border in the Civil War (Catoctin Center for Regional Studies, Frederick Community College)
Videos, maps, images, historic newspapers, letters, diaries, and more.
Gettysburg National Military Park (U.S. Park Service)
Digital photos, documents, and multimedia related to the Battle of Gettysburg. The website also provides information about visiting the Park Library and Research Center.