History

Digital archives from the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Collections include "Intelligence Operations in the Cold War," "Mass Media and Censorship," "Cuba in the Cold War," and many more.

Free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections. Includes posters, manuscripts, maps, rare prints, and photographs. Search the collections or browse by subject.

From the Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library. Several document collections from the ancient world to the 21st century.

Supported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.

Digitized library of more than 40 collections compiled by top experts and scholars documenting critical world events from post World War II through the 21st century.

Catalog of over 1.1 million items from IISH, including data on the global history of labor, workers, and labor relations.

Access to primary resources on a wide variety of topics in history.

Collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. Covers ancient, medieval, and modern history from across the globe and across topical areas.

Digital copies of 113 maps of Africa and accompanying text.

Slides, photographs, and sound files from 45 different countries.

Multimedia collections about African countries.

Collection of more than 700 images.

Historical sources on the history of human societies on the continent of Africa.

Database of images of African art published before 1921.

From 1786 to 1836 the United States made 9 treaties with the Barbary States, as they were then called: Morocco, Algiers, Tunis, and Tripoli. Seven of those treaties appear in this collection.

Collection of the administrative papers from the Sudan Political Service, missionaries, soldiers, business men, doctors, agriculturalists, teachers and others who served or lived in the Sudan during the Anglo-Egyptian Condominium (1898-1955).

Cuban documents about Havana's policy toward Southern Africa in the final fifteen years of the Cold War.

Find primary sources under the "Publications" drop-down menu.

Growing collection of texts produced by the famous Victorian explorer in Central Africa.

Information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Collection of 49 video interviews conducted with personnel from the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR).

Includes about 7,610 photographs depicting life, primarily in East Africa, between about 1860 and 1960.

Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States.

Information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.

Official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the Army and Navy.

English summaries or full translations of Japanese newspaper articles and editorials from November 1945 to June 1946.

Open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). - See more at: http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/eastasia#sthash.FQmzYvGo.dpuf

Collection of primarily European and American images of the island of Taiwan -- called "Formosa" by foreign visitors in the nineteenth century -- and its various peoples, natural resources, wildlife, and built environment.

Wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia.

Collection of prints, drawings and photographs from the Indian subcontinent and its surrounding territories

Database of full-text books, journals, and newspapers hosted by the Indian Institute of Science.

Joint project among the University of Hertfordshire, University of London and University of Sheffield. Includes parliamentary records, court proceedings, transportation registers, images from the British Museum, private papers, diocesan records, newspapers, and more.

From the Institute of European History in Mainz, Germany. Free online resource covering the "transcultural history of Europe" over the past 500 years. All resources (text and multimedia) are available in German and English.

Collection of links to open access sources for European historical primary documents.

Collection of audiovisual content providing insight into the social, cultural, political, and economic history of Europe in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Collection of digitized material related to Modern Greek Studies

Approximately 200 titles covering travel in southeastern Europe, in particular Bosnia and Hercegovina, throughout history.

More than 500 pamphlets published between 1547 and 1626.

Digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution.

Administered by the Harvard Law School Library. Contains documents from Case 1 and Case 4 of the Nuremberg Military Tribunal trials. Search over 32,000 pages of English-language prosecution and defense documents, over 200 photographs, and nearly 6,000 descriptions.

Extensive digital collection of illustrations, photographs, texts, film and audio fragments

Digital collection consisting chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War

Extensive collection of digitized Soviet posters.

Manuscripts, posters, photographs, music and other artifacts

Selection of books, book excerpts, entire articles, America letters, photographs and prints, film clips and excerpts from radio and television broadcasts.

Digitized collections of newspapers, maps, books, sheet music and audio recordings.

Digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.

Collection of 715 digitized pamphlets documenting a century of Bolivian literate culture, beginning in 1848.

Digital collection that includes hundreds of early books on Latin America. Website is in Spanish.

Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930

Over 1,200 images, maps and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries.

Speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996 (in English).

Published and unpublished documents, pronouncements, action alerts, press releases, flyers, newsclippings, correspondence, and other types of ephemeral material, serials, and policy reports related to the activist group Guatemala News and Information Bureau.

Resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.

Provides more than 1800 images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in various countries of the region from the mid-19th century to c. 1910.

Showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s

Unique primary sources on 19th-century Colombian history and culture.

Four of these curated collection are relevant to Latin American history: Haiti Collection, Indigenous Language Collection, Portugal and Brazil Collection, and the Spanish America Collection.

Collection of more than 5,000 scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America.

Digital presentation of works documenting aspects of the great civilizations of Mesoamerica.

Bibliographic database of more than 11,000 citations and over 1,150 photocopies of pamphlets pertaining to the independence movement in Mexico, 1789-1828.

Joint effort by Brown University and the Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Paraná, Brazil to digitize and index 10,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil from 1963-73 and make them available to the public.

Historically important writings by prominent Puerto Rican political activists and historians dating from approximately 70 years before the Spanish-American war (1831) until some 30 years after it (1929).

A variety of Latin American collections housed at the University of Texas at Austin.

Editorially reviewed access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts from the pre-Islamic to the modern Arab world.

Collection includes classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as the library's earliest works of photography in the Middle East region.

Digital collection of hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.

Online access to texts, maps, and images documenting travel to the Middle East (primarily Egypt) between the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Collection includes 1819 photographs in 51 large-format albums dating from about 1880 to 1893 portraying the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II.

Digital collection of approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication.

The form and content of cuneiform inscriptions dating from the beginning of writing, ca. 3350 BC, until the end of the pre-Christian era.

Presents clay tablets, cones, and brick fragments inscribed using the ancient writing system known as cuneiform from the Library of Congress’ collections.

Collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s

Digitized books and documents related to Iraqi Jewish life.