Library Research Guides: Social Work: Evidence-Based Resources

Databases for Evidence-Based Social Work

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations for research in behavioral science and mental health. Limited full text.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychology Association. Full text.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature includes social work, public health, and mental health. Includes full text for over 600 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical research, including articles that cannot be found in PubMed Central. Some citations include links to full-text content.

The Campbell Collaboration for Evidence-Based Searches An evidence-based database for systematic reviews in the social and behavioral sciences, along with education and criminal justice.
Child Trends Research Source for research and data on children.
CMS Measures Inventory Tool The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Measure Inventory Tool (CMIT) is the repository of record for information about the measures which CMS uses to promote healthcare quality and quality improvement.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports.
Health Evidence McMaster University (Ontario, Canada). "Search our database of 8,295 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data." Updated monthly.
Trip Database A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence, including a PICO search function.
US Preventive Services Taskforce "...reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services."
Social Programs that Work From the Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization, lists EBPs for social programs related to crime prevention, substance abuse, mental health and more.

Websites for Evidence-Based Social Work

ACRL Social Work Liaison Toolkit From the EBSS Social Work Committee. Has general resources (Ref, Organizations, Databases), Statistics, Data Sets, Open Access, Tests & Measures, Policy, Selecting in Social Work, and Evidence Synthesis and Advanced Reviews. https://acrl.libguides.com/social_work_toolkit/home
ASPE Office of The Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. https://aspe.hhs.gov/
CDC Smoking & Tobacco Use: Evidence Based Guides for the States From: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Numerous guidelines and best practices. https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/stateandcommunity/guides/
Community Health Assessment & Health Improvement Planning Has models, frameworks, tools, and plans. https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/cha/index.html
Community Tool Box: Toolkits "...resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. It offers thousands of pages of tips and tools for taking action in communities." The Community Tool Box is a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. https://ctb.ku.edu/en/toolkits
Databases of Best Practices By the Community Tool Box. Following the list are resources by category. The Community Tool Box is a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. https://ctb.ku.edu/en/databases-best-practices
Dissemination & Implementation Models in Health: An Interactive Webtool to Help You Use D&I Models "... help researchers and practitioners navigate D&I theories, models, and frameworks (TMFs) through planning, selecting, combining, adapting, using, and linking to measures." https://dissemination-implementation.org/
EPPI Centre Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating (EPPI) Centre is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. Offers resources related to health, education, and welfare.
Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice Information about evidence-based practice related to the behavioral sciences. https://ebbp.org/
Evidence Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP) From the National Cancer Institute. "The Evidence Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP) site was developed in response to Cancer Control P.L.A.N.E.T users’ need to easily access program materials for evidence-based cancer control programs." https://ebccp.cancercontrol.cancer.gov/index.do
Evidence-Based Practice (University of Washington) An Evidence-based practice research guide produced by the University of Washington Health Sciences Library. https://guides.lib.uw.edu/hsl/ebp
Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality You can search all EPC reports. https://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/evidence-based-reports/index.html
Evidence-Based Practice for Child Abuse Prevention From the Child Welfare Information Gateway. Selected programs. https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/preventing/evidence/
Evidence-Based Practice for the Helping Professions Provides the definition of evidence-based practice along with guidance in formulating the question and advice on searching appropriate databases. Produced by Leonard Gibbs, Eamon Armstrong, Donna Raleigh, and Josette Jones. Based on: Evidence-Based Practice for the Helping Professions by L. Gibbs (2003). http://www.evidence.brookscole.com/index.html
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center: SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) https://www.samhsa.gov/ebp-resource-center
Medical Research Library of Brooklyn - EBP Tutorial These pages provide definitions of types of evidence-based studies. They also describe primary and secondary sources. https://guides.downstate.edu/c.php?g=856794&p=6137636
National Health Initiatives, Strategies & Action Plans https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/strategy/index.html
Policy Evaluation From the CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Resource for policy evaluation. https://www.cdc.gov/injury/pdfs/policy/Brief%201-a.pdf
Program Performance and Evaluation Office (PPEO) - Program Evaluation From the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention). "How to" information and resources. https://www.cdc.gov/eval/resources/index.htm
Public Health Economics Has tools. https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/pheconomics/index.html
Social Interventions Research and Evaluation Network (SIREN) "... growing interest in interventions attending to patients’ social determinants of health (SDH) in health care delivery, including both activities that mitigate the impacts of SDH on health care delivery and those that aim to change patients' SDH. Stronger evidence of effectiveness of interventions, complemented by convincing implementation and dissemination research, is needed to inform decision-making and secure health care sector funding for these activities. The Social Interventions Research and Evaluation Network (SIREN) at UCSF was launched in the spring of 2016 to synthesize, disseminate, and catalyze rigorous research in this field." https://sirenetwork.ucsf.edu/tools/evidence-library
WHO guidelines approved by the Guidelines Review Committee World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/publications/guidelines/en/
Centene Center for Health Transformation Brown School research center. Research tab may be helpful. "The Centene Center for Health Transformation is a unique academic-industry collaboration between the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis, the Center for Advanced Hindsight at Duke University, and Centene Corporation. Our mission is to create, evaluate, and advance innovative ways of improving managed care delivery by translating public health and behavioral economics research into effective practices and programs for better health outcomes. We leverage the insights of Fortune 500-company Centene Corporation and subsidiary Envolve on managed care, along with the research and evaluation expertise of the Brown School and Duke University to design, implement and evaluate behavior-based innovations that facilitate healthier living. We use findings from our research to improve the effectiveness of health care delivery, influence positive health outcomes, and decrease healthcare costs, especially for the nation’s Medicaid population." Core areas: Lifestyle innovations, Behavioral economics, Analytic insights, Health communications. https://www.centenecenter.wustl.edu/
Center for Mental Health Services Research (CMHSR) Brown School research center. See the Projects & Publications tab. "...research agenda to improve mental health care in the social services." https://cmhsr.wustl.edu/
Center for Obesity Prevention and Policy Research (COPPR) Brown School research center. "The mission of the Center for Obesity Prevention and Policy Research (COPPR) is to improve the health of underserved populations by engaging in trans-disciplinary research that discovers new science and integrates it into policies designed to prevent obesity."
Center for Public Health Systems Science (CPHSS) Brown School research center. Products tab is helpful. "Our mission at the Center for Public Health Systems Science is to create sustainable solutions to public health problems. We achieve this by connecting research and evaluation, leading to: Better integration of theory and practice; Greater understanding of whole systems; Improved health policies; Rapid adoption of evidence-based policies and practices. .. We work toward our vision by concentrating in four focus areas: Prevention Policy Research - Engaging in innovative policy research in tobacco control and other chronic disease areas, Informing advocacy for effective public health policy. Policy and Systems Evaluation - Evaluating public health programs and policies, Examining multi-site local, state, and national initiatives, Building evaluation capacity. Innovative Methods - Social network analysis, Multi-level modeling; Concept mapping, Geographic information systems (GIS). Knowledge Translation - Communicating research and evaluation findings, Providing tools for program sustainability, Contributing to evidence-based guidelines, Implementing data visualization and dissemination best practices." https://cphss.wustl.edu/
Center for Social Development (CSD) Brown School research center. The Publications tab is helpful. "The Center for Social Development's mission is to create and study innovations in policy and practices that enable individuals, families and communities to formulate and achieve life goals, and contribute to the economy and society. Through innovation, research and policy development, CSD makes intellectual and applied contributions in social development theory, evidence, community projects and public policy. .. he Center for Social Development’s broad engagements in research and social innovation encompass seven primary areas: Financial Inclusion; Civic Engagement and Service; Thriving Communities; Child and Youth Development; Social Justice; Environment and Social Development; and Race, Inequality and Social Mobility. " https://csd.wustl.edu/
Center for Social Development Publications by Category CSD publications in lists by category. https://openscholarship.wustl.edu/csd/
Center for Innovation in Child Maltreatment Policy, Research and Training Community resources tab may be helpful. https://cicm.wustl.edu/community-resources/clearinghouses/
Clark-Fox Policy Institute "Established by the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis, the Maxine Clark and Bob Fox Policy Institute is a center for public policy engagement. Our mission is to advance social and economic justice by working collaboratively to connect evidence-based policy solutions to public awareness, practitioner training, and policy decision-making." https://clarkfoxpolicyinstitute.wustl.edu/
Health Communication Research Laboratory (HCRL) Brown School research center. The Research tab is helpful. "... seeks to eliminate health disparities by increasing the reach and effectiveness of health information to low-income and minority populations. The HCRL’s innovative and community-based research: Finds new ways to reach disadvantaged populations affected most by health disparities; Develops and delivers effective health interventions designed specifically for these populations; Uses technology and partnerships to connect people to health services in their community." https://hcrl.wustl.edu/
International Center for Child Health and Development (ICHAD) Brown School research center. The Publications tab is helpful. "The International Center for Child Health and Development (ICHAD)’s mission is to contribute to the reduction of poverty and the improvement of health and overall developmental outcomes for youth and families in low-resource communities, particularly those in sub-Saharan Africa. The Center conducts rigorous applied research focused on family-level economic strengthening and empowerment interventions that tackle the interactive effects of poverty, disease, and health-related risk factors for youth. ICHAD also seeks to increase public awareness and support for asset-based social programs, as well as to promote research-driven policy and programming." https://ichad.wustl.edu/
Kathryn M. Buder Center for American Indian Studies The Research and then the Products tabs may be helpful. "The Buder Center for American Indian Studies (BCAIS) is a premier graduate degree scholarship program in social work committed to the education of American Indian MSW students. The Buder Center recruits qualified American Indian scholars; provides student support in a demanding course of study; develops curriculum; conducts research and engages in policy development that directly impacts Indian Country. We prepare future American Indian leaders to practice in tribal and urban settings, making significant contributions to the health, wellness and the sustained future of Indian Country." https://sites.wustl.edu/budercenter/
Prevention Research Center in St. Louis (PRC-StL) Brown School research center. The Publications and the Tools & Resources tabs are helpful. "The Prevention Research Center in St. Louis (PRC-StL) explores behaviors that place people at risk for chronic diseases such as obesity, cancer and diabetes. Center researchers conduct and share research on physical activity, policy, the built environment, and the translation of evidence into public health practice, while placing particular emphasis on vulnerable populations." https://prcstl.wustl.edu/
SMART Africa Center (Strengthening Mental health And Research Training) Brown School research center. "Funded by the National Institute of Mental Health, the SMART Africa Center (Strengthening Mental health And Research Training) is an African regional trans-disciplinary collaborative center aimed at reducing gaps in child and adolescent mental health services and research in Ghana, Kenya, and Uganda through a population approach to child mental health." https://sites.wustl.edu/smartafrica/
Translational Science Benefits Model "... framework public health and clinical scientists can use to demonstrate the impact of their work in the real world." From the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS) at the School of Medicine and the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis. Covers clinical, community, economic, and policy/legislative benefits. https://translationalsciencebenefits.wustl.edu/
Translational Science Benefits Model - Case Studies From WUSTL's Institute of Clinical & Translational Sciences, Bernard Becker Medical Library, Center for Public Health systems Science (Brown School). Impact of the translational science model applied to the real world. https://translationalsciencebenefits.wustl.edu/case-studies/

Resources identified by Washington University in St. Louis Libraries.