Social Work

An online resource for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. Information provided includes fact sheets for specific communities and statistical information about people, housing, business, and government.

Good source for public opinion on a variety of current topics.

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."--from the site

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. No longer published, but still helpful for providing directions to more current data.

A one-stop destination for economic development data sites and tools. Supported by the U.S. Economic Development Administration..

"The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations."--from the site

National and state-by-state data on key indicators of child well-being.

Fin reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption. http://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/statistics/?hasbeendirected=1

The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN), promotes scholarly exchange in the child maltreatment field. Data is acquired from leading researchers and national data collection efforts. NDACAN makes datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.

A compilation and analysis of the recent and reliable national and state-by-state data on population, poverty, family structure, family income, health, nutrition, early childhood development, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence.

The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics.

An up-to-date, comprehensive directory on crime statistics, including prison finance, arrests, public opinion, and the death penalty

Data from the United Nations.

Non-partisan economic and social policy research. Provides good data and research on poverty.

The National Center for Health Statistics, a division of the CDC provides statistics on those patients receiving out-patient mental health care; patients in hospitals; and mental illness data within nursing homes. Suicide data is also provided.

Data, Outcomes, and Quality Reports from the SAMHSA on issues related to substance abuse and mental health. For example, methamphetamine use, emergency room visits because of substance abuse and mental health issues, and suicide rates.

Statistics, reports, and other information from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention

"The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics. The PSID is directed by faculty at the University of Michigan, and the data are available on this website without cost to researchers and analysts."--from the site.