Library Research Guides: Social Work: Web Resources

Is it a scholarly website?

When you search for information on the Internet, determine the reliability and accuracy, or scholarship, of the sites you find. There is no quality assurance when it comes to information on the Internet. Some points to keep in mind when evaluating websites:

Origin: Who owns the site? Who adds/edits content? Are the author's credentials listed? You should be able to find all of this information on a credible site.
Design: The site should have a clean design, with little or no advertising
Content: The site should contain quality information that is cited properly. The level and depth of the information should meet your needs, and you shoud be able to independently verify all information from other sources.
Currency: All information on the site should be dated, and the site should be currently maintained. You should not find any broken links.
Purpose/Agenda: What does the URL say about the purpose of the site? Does the site contain an "About Us" section or mission statement? Is the site being used to sell a product?

Federal Government Information Sources

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services' (HHS) mission is to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. They providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
Assistance Listings (formerly Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)) Provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to state and local governments, federally-recognized Indian tribal governments, territories of the United States, profit and non-profit organizations and institutions, specialized groups, and individuals.
Social Security Online Information on retirement, veteran's benefits, medicare, and other social security programs.
Congress.gov Created by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov contains information about federal legislation, Congressional members, and the legislative process.

Drug Abuse and Alcoholism

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) is one of the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIAAA supports and conducts research on the impact of alcohol use on human health and well-being. It is the largest funder of alcohol research in the world.
National Institute on Drug Abuse NIDA advances science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and applies that knowledge to improve individual and public health.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration An agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Alcoholics Anonymous Provides information on Alcoholics Anonymous, including a list of general services, and resources for contacts and offices within the U.S., Canada, and other countries.
Narcotics Anonymous Information on Narcotics Anonymous, including services, publications, and events.

Family & Children Services

Child Welfare Information Gateway Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more.
more...less...
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families.
Child Welfare League of America CWLA leads and engages its network of public and private agencies and partners to advance policies, best practices and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for children, youth and families that are vulnerable.
Child Protective Services. Maryland. Department of Human Resources Child Protective Services (CPS) is a specific social service provided by DHR to assist children believed to be neglected or abused by parents or other adults having permanent or temporary care or custody, or parental responsibility. The program also offers service to household or family members who may require intervention to decrease the risk of any continuing physical, sexual or mental abuse or neglect.
Injury Prevention & Control. Center for Disease Control. The CDC is committed to stopping violence before it begins. The site includes reports, statistics, and mediation assistance.

Health and Nutrition

American Cancer Society The site provides information on patients, survivors, and for health information seekers.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention The CDC is the nation′s prevention agency working 24/7 to protect people from diseases, injuries, and disabilities, as well as other health problems associated with natural disasters and bioterrorism attacks.
National Institute of Mental Health The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the nation’s medical research agency. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
National Institute on Aging Since 1974, the NIA -- one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of the NIH -- has been at the forefront of the Nation's research activities dedicated to understanding the nature of aging, supporting the health and well being of older adults, and extending healthy, active years of life for more people.
National Institutes of Health The NIA is a medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
National Library of Medicine The world's largest medical llibrary and the home of Medline/PubMed. The site has a plethora of information on health and medicine.
Food and Nutrition Service. U.S. Department of Agriculture Information on nutrition assistance programs, school meals, and disaster relief.
Food Resource and Action Center The leading non-profit organization working to improve public policies and public/private partnerships to eradicate hunger and under-nutrition in the United States. The site provides much useful information on food programs, policy issues, and initiatives.

Homelessness, Housing, and Urban Development

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development The primary source for Federal Government reports and information on housing policy and programs, building technology, and economic development.
United States Interagency Council on Homelessness An agency devoted to ending homlessness, the site provides information and news concerning homelessness and the variety of national projects to end homelessness.
National Coalition for the Homeless A national network of people who are currently experiencing or who have experienced homelessness, activists and advocates, community-based and faith-based service providers, and others committed to a single mission: To prevent and end homelessness while ensuring the immediate needs of those experiencing homelessness are met and their civil rights protected.
National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty The Law Center is the only national legal group dedicated to ending and preventing homelessness. It works to expand access to affordable housing, meets the immediate and long-term needs of those who are homeless or at risk, and strengthens the social safety-net.
National Alliance to End Homelessness The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a leading voice on the issue of homelessness. The Alliance analyzes policy and develops pragmatic, cost-effective policy solutions. The Alliance works collaboratively with the public, private, and nonprofit sectors to build state and local capacity, leading to stronger programs and policies that help communities achieve their goal of ending homelessness. We provide data and research to policymakers and elected officials in order to inform policy debates and educate the public and opinion leaders nationwide.
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans Provides assistance to veterans in need of shelter and employment as well as current information on homeless veterans and legislation.
National Low Income Housing Coalition Dedicated solely to achieving socially just public policy assuring people with the lowest incomes in the United States have affordable and decent housing.

Legal Help

Maryland Legal Aid Maryland Legal Aid provides a full range of free civil legal services to financially qualified Marylanders and people over 60 from 12 offices and 3 District Court Self-Help Centers around the state. Maryland Legal Aid handles civil, not criminal, cases. Areas of general civil legal services include: Consumer Rights, Elder Rights, Employment, Family, Farmworkers Rights, Government Benefits, Healthcare, and Housing.
The People's Law Library of Maryland The People's Law Library (PLL) is a legal information and self-help website maintained by the Maryland State Law Library, a court-related agency of the Maryland Judiciary, and supported by Maryland's non-profit legal services providers, Maryland pro bono attorneys, and the legal academic community.

Poverty

Poverty Guidelines U.S. Federal Poverty Guidelines from the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation within the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services used to determine financial eligibility for certain federal programs
U.S. Census Bureau. Poverty. Poverty data from several major household surveys and programs
Hunger, Homelessness & Poverty Task Force. Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association. Valuable links to resources and organizations which assist low-income people and address poverty.
National Center for Children in Poverty The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is one of the nation’s leading public policy centers dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children. NCCP uses research to inform policy and practice with the goal of ensuring positive outcomes for the next generation
Institute for Research on Poverty: Research, Training, Policy, Practice Located at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, the Institute provides current news, reports, research, and links to issues related to poverty.
Poverty Solutions. University of Michigan. The mission of Poverty Solutions at the University of Michigan is to partner with communities and policymakers to find new ways to prevent and alleviate poverty.